Anime Figure Review – Hijikata Toushirou

hijikata

To increase the amount of quality contents in Kiwiism, I’ve decided to make an Anime Figure Review!

This will be my first Figure Review, from the courtesy of this maniac, I’m able to take some pictures of the real stuff.

I may not be collecting Anime Figures now but I might some time in the near future.

I haven’t really read any of the reviews before, so I’m not sure if there’s a proper format. I thought it would be better to do it in my own style.

Today, I will be reviewing on this prize figure – Hijikata Toushirou. Let’s take a look on the specifications.

Category: Prepainted
Classification: DX Figure
Origin: Gintama (銀魂)
Character: Hijikata Toushirou (土方十四郎)
Company Banpresto (バンプレスト) Manufacturer
Materials: ABS, PVC
Price: ¥1714
Release date: 2012/02
Dimensions: H=150 mm (5.85 in)
Run: Prize
Information taken from: http://myfigurecollection.net/item/87197

Hijikata Toushirou ( 土方 十四郎 Hijikata Tōshirō ) is the Demonic Vice-Commander of the Shinsengumi in the Anime Gintama. He is also my favourite male character in the Anime.

First, take a look at the base. Pretty smooth and glossy with a printed Gintama Logo.

hijikata-1

Hmm, something seems to be hanging at the top. In the reflection of the shiny base, the full thing is almost clear as the morning sky hanging on what seems like from Hijikata’s crotch.

Zooming out a little bit… Ah! It is actually the sheath of his katana. The tip of the sheath is… well made. I noticed his crotch area is a bit too wrinkl-ish.

hijikata-19

Seems like the pants are a little bit too tight which caused the wrinkles when he spreads open his thighs. But still, it’s quite a detail.

hijikata-18

Looking at the overall figure. Hmm, sorry it’s kinda dark.

hijikata-4

Maybe I’ll just add a little flash. Quite an intimidating post I would say.

hijikata-3

Comparing the size of Hijikata with my hand to give a rough idea on the actual size.

hijikata-20

I think the paint job is pretty decent, hardly any rough surfaces or bumps can be found. Although the gold linings aren’t very precise but I guess it’s still acceptable.

hijikata-5

The face resemblance… I will probably rate it to be at 65%.

hijikata-6

The hair isn’t really waxy as illustrated in the picture, it’s just the lightings. The hair also contains a small amount of dark algae greenish colour.

hijikata-7

Hijikata’s point of view.

hijikata-9

Buddy-ing side by side with Hijikata.

hijikata-8

Piggy riding on Hijikata.

hijikata-11

“Enough!”

hijikata-17

“You bastard!”

hijikata-21

The katana is quite beautiful. Looking from this angle, it’s like as if he’s slowly sliding his thumb along the side of the blade.

hijikata-24

And lastly, the back view of Hijikata…

hijikata-22

With a little flash. I also like the fluttering shirt, it’s just cool.

hijikata-23

Overall I will give this figure 75/100, considering the price to quality ratio. Hope you enjoyed my very first Figure Review. And hopefully my next Figure Review will be my very own piece!

2 thoughts on “Anime Figure Review – Hijikata Toushirou

  1. Cool review! So is this Hijikata of Gintama? Personally I like Hijikata of Hakouki: Shinsengumi Kitan 🙂

All comments are subjected to approval before release. Put a prefix [p] tag if you intend your comment to be private.

